2491 Community Drive | Bath, PA 18014 | 610-759-9449

Police Department

Moore Township The Moore Township Police Department patrols Moore Township and the Borough of Chapman 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Contact Information
Moore Township Police Department
2491 Community Drive
Bath, PA 18014

Headquarters: 610-759-5077
Fax: 610-746-3055

Administrative Office Hours
Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 4:00pm
Copies of crash and incident reports are available for a fee of $15.00 per report.

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-Emergency: 610-317-0808/610-759-2200

If there is any doubt as to whether or not your situation is an emergency, PLEASE DIAL 911

In July 1952, the Moore Township Police Department was formed after Township residents requested police protection. The first Police Chief, Harvey Miller, was hired. An additional officer, Emil Focht, was hired two weeks later. The two officers used their own cars to patrol and were on call 24 hours a day.

The officers operated without radios. Township residents were given telephone numbers of five locations to call for emergencies. Owners of the designated places posted yellow flags on their porches when they were called. As the police patrolled and saw the flags, they would stop and take the information. There were stops in Moorestown, Point Phillips, Klecknersville, Beersville, and one on Route 248. Police calls were eventually handled by Bethlehem City and then Blue Mountain Control Center in Wind Gap. The first Township police car purchased was a 1955 Chevy.

As the number of calls increased with the Township population, Sherwood Roberts was hired in 1973 as Chief Miller’s assistant. In 1979, Sherwood Roberts became Moore Township's second Police Chief. During Chief Roberts’s time as Police Chief, the Department increased staffing to four full-time and three part-time officers providing police coverage 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The Department hired an administrative secretary and began using its first computer. In February 1992, Sherwood Roberts retired as Chief.

In January 1992, Fred Coberly was named interim Police Chief removing the interim title in March. Chief Coberly retired in September 2000. That October, a citizens committee was formed to select the new Police Chief. The citizens committee and PA Association of Chiefs of Police reviewed the applicants and a new Chief was selected. In August 2001, Chief Joseph Keglovits was hired as Police Chief.

Chief Keglovits hired three additional full-time officers for a total of nine full-time officers and maintained approximately five part-time officers. With the Department's growth, the Township created the Sergeant and Detective positions and increased training in areas of accident investigation, commercial truck inspections, and DUI detection.

In 2004, the Police Department moved from the small two-room station to its newly renovated police station which consisted of individual officers’ desks, separate offices for ranking officers, a secure holding cell, a conference room, and a waiting room for the public.

In 2006, Chief Keglovits retired from the Moore Township Police Department due to injuries. The Moore Township Board of Supervisors promoted Sergeant Gary West to Chief of Police in January 2007.

Moore Township
© 2021 Moore Township
site design | na studios